The National Board of Trial Advocacy is proud to participate in KALW Public Radio's broadcast, Your Legal Rights, a radio program and podcast that discusses various legal issues and includes listener participation. From criminal issues such as the death penalty to family and civil law issues, topics run the gamut.

Below, please find the complete podcast archive of previously aired broadcasts for all NBTA member participation thus far. If you are interested in participating in a future broadcast, please click here.


 

YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS BROADCAST sponsored in part by the National Board of Trial Advocacy

 

 


YOUR LEGAL RIGHTS

Broadcast   

Wednesday evening, May 17th, 2017

FAMILY LAW:  KIDNAPPED/ABDUCTED CHILDREN –

THE SUCCESSFUL RETURN OF CHILDREN TO THEIR FAMILIES

Please tune in to the  broadcast of Your Legal Rights on Wednesday evening, May 17th, 2017  @ 5:00 pm Hawaii DT/6:00 pm Alaska DT/7:00 pm Pacific DT/8:00 pm Mountain DT/9:00 pm Central DT/10:00 Eastern  DT sponsored in part by the National Board of Trial Advocacy.  This topic will be on Family Law:  Kidnapped/Abducted Children - The Successful Return of Children to Their Families.

According to the National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (citing U.S. Department of Justice reports), nearly 800,000 children are reported missing each year. That's more than 2,000 a day. The NCMEC says 203,000 children are kidnapped each year by family members. The Polly Klaas Foundation reports of these missing children 99.8% do come home.  Of these children 9% are kidnapped by a family member in a custody dispute.  Only about 100 children (a fraction of 1%) are kidnapped each year in the stereotypical stranger abductions heard about in the news.  Only about half of these children come home.

 

Joining host/producer Chuck Finney will be Amy Sara Cores, a National Board of Trial Advocacy Family Law Trial Advocate and a Fellow of the American Academy of Matrimonial Law Attorneys, with the Law Firm of Cores & Associates, LLC, in Howell, New Jersey and BJ Fadem, a Specialist in Family Law certified by the California Board of Legal Specialization.

Your Legal Rights can be heard live on 91.7 FM KALW in San Francisco and other NPR stations throughout the country. Check your local listing.  It is also available live via streaming at KALW.org or by podcast at www.kalw.org/rss.  The entire hour is uplinked to the National Public Radio (NPR) Satellite for national distribution through support from NBTA. 

 


 

A Discussion of Laws Protecting Persons Who Are Disabled- James Shea

 

Family Law-- co-parenting through the holidays - Linda Lea Viken

A discussion of personal injury and wrongful death cases - David Rapoport 

A discussion of personal injuries/death caused by medical malpractice - Jack McGehee

Social Security disability benefits laws and issues - Rob Wendt

The legal rights of people suffering from personal injuries and/or medical malpractice - Keith Clifford 

Immigration and Nationality laws and issues - Luis J. Rodriguez and J. Antonio Nierras 

Update on workers compensation laws and issues - Alice O'Sullivan

Biblical mediation/conflict coaching for couples in divorce or trouble - John and Kimberly Thomas